You can send money to someone without knowing their bank details. When setting up a transfer, we’ll give you a link that you can share with your recipient. They can click on the link to securely input their bank details and receive the money.
You can only send money with a link from your Wise balance — make sure your recipient can receive money in the currency you send it to.
Here’s how to send money securely with a link:
Go to your Balance and click Send
Select the amount and currency and click on Continue
On the bottom of the next page, select Share a payment link
Check the transfer details and click on Confirm and send
Click on Copy link to copy it to your dashboard
Share it with your recipient via email, direct message or any way you like
When your recipient clicks on the link, they’ll be asked for an email and a password to secure their information
They’ll need to enter their bank account details and click on the Claim
Once they click on Claim, the money is on its way to their bank account.
Who can send money with a link and how much can I send?
You can send money with a link from both personal and business accounts. It’s currently only available on the website, but we’re working on launching it on the app soon.
You can only send up to 200 USD (or equivalent in other currencies) with each link and can only have 5 active links at a time.
How do I cancel the transfer?
You’ll see the transfer on the list of Transactions on the main page of your account. Select the transfer and click on Cancel — this will cancel the link,and your recipient won’t be able to claim it. You can only cancel the transfer before your recipient claims the money.
How long is my link valid for?
The link is valid until you cancel it, or for 5 calendar days. After this, you’ll need to set up a new transfer to get a new link.
Why is my recipient asked for their email and password?
This is to keep your money safe. We store these details securely and don’t share them with 3rd parties. If your recipient opens a Wise account in the future, they can already use the email and password to Log in and set it up.
Why can’t I see the option to share a link when I’m setting up the transfer?
We’re still working on this feature, so it’s possible you can't see it on your account yet.
Other reasons could be:
The amount you’re trying to send is over 200 USD (or equivalent in other currencies)
You have more than 5 pending links
You don’t have enough money on your balance